About Truku
 
The Dream of a Beautiful Land — The Truku Tribe
 
Everyone has a dream. Whenever people face difficulty in reality, dreams give a momentum to flee. Returning to the rainbow bridge (Hakaw Utuxthe) which Utux guards is the beautiful dream shared by the Truku in the high mountains or the riverside…

Long, long time ago, a saying has been passed down in the Truku tribe, “After death, only people who have facial tattoos can step on the rainbow bridge which Utux guards.” Truku people firmly believe that the facial tattoo gives them power to fight in life and is the only way to return to the arms of Utux after death.

As time changes, the representative mark of Truku beautiful tattoos on foreheads, faces and lower lips has gone with history, and yet the strong symbolic meaning is instilled in the spirit of the Truku. Every detail of weaving, craving, celebrating to the living shows the impressive insistence of Truku spirit.



Follow the Footstep of Gaya and Climb Over the Mountain to the Truku

The Truku tribe travelled through deep gullies and valleys and climbed sky-high mountain. Even though they had no idea about what laid ahead, they believed that Utux would protect them in cleaving through the Central Mountain Range and Syue Mountain to the place where clean Liwu river and Papaya river murmurs. The endless magnificent landscape made them naturally exclaim “Truku.”

This happened three or four centuries ago. “Truku” means “a Platform in the Mountainside” or “a Habitable Place” in Truku language. After the development over hundred years, Xiulin Township of Hualien County has concentrated most Truku people and the name of Truku has attracted many international and domestic tourists to explore the origin of the name.

After the Truku settled down in Hualien, they keep the ancestor worship and belief. Under the guidance of gaya, The Truku are a patriarchal society and family property passes on to male descendants. The monogamous society strongly prohibits the cousin marriage. The wedding is generally held in the groom’s home and prepared by friends and relatives. The groom’s family should prepare knives, guns, beaded clothing and farm tools as gifts while the bride’s family needs to prepare necessary textile equipment along with weaving works for the groom's family. They enjoy the pork feast with friends and relatives to pump up the atmosphere.

When the Truku tribe travelled long distances from Nantou to Hualien where they built own unique characteristics, the respect to Utux and the belief on Gaya were the pillar supporting them and building the strong coherence. All activities in festivals and daily life have close connection with Utux, especially the impressive tattoo culture.

Return to the Rainbow Bridge which Utux Guards

An old Truku tale says dead people go to the spiritual world where Utux exist. The access to the spiritual world is the rainbow bridge, guarded by Utux who only allows people with facial tattoos to walk on the bridge which links to the spiritual world of Utux and leave the unqualified roaming in nihility.

Hence, even though it is so painful to pierce row upon row of needles into skin that the Truku tie themselves up to endure the agony and need to suffer a month long recovery time afterwards, they still regard facial tattoos as the highest glory and try every endeavor to perform the “sacred ritual” on the face without any regret.

The Truku develops beautiful tattoos into a system. Only when the male is strong and brave enough to protect tribal members' life and assets are they allowed to have tattoos on jaws and only the female has such excellent weaving skills that they are allowed have tattoos on cheeks. In other words, strong men and skillful women protect the tribe so win respect from other tribal members.

As time changes, the Truku no longer lives the traditional life of hunting and cultivation or hunts for enemies’ heads in order to survive in the precarious environment where enemies surround. However, the brilliant weaving skill, the respect to Utux and the cultural spirit of returning to the rainbow bridge continue to thrive in the Truku in another way.


The Tie Between the Truku and Utux

To walk on the rainbow bridge that leads the way to fulfill the dream of returning to the place of Utux, every Truku woman is educated to pursue the practiced and consummate weaving skill as a lifetime goal since in the cradle.

At their young age, Truku women have watched mothers, aunts and other elder women weaving, kindly reminding them: “Don’t underestimate the grain.” Ru Wen embodies the wish of smooth life. Do Wen means harvest and the diamond grain symbolize the eye of Utux who protect and watch you all the time. Every grain has its special meaning and finally Truku women acquire the full knowledge of grains.

Nonetheless, Truku women will not personally realize how many obstacles they have to get through and how many efforts they have to devote to complete a beautiful work after starting learning.

Truku women will destroy an imperfect work even if it is almost done or the flaw is too small to be detected because Truku women know every work represents not only their skills but also the tie with Utux. Every grain tells the insistence of Truku on traditions and the passionate love to its members.



A Knife and a Handful of Salt in the Simple and Natural Life

Nowadays, Truku men no longer have facial tattoos or hunt, but they still abide by the tradition and stick to the ancestor’s rule. They show respect to the nature in farming, live off the mountain and never waste food that is cooked in a simple way like boiling in water, roasting by fire, stewing with stones or steaming in bamboos. Tableware is made up of local materials by hands. Dining etiquette is highly emphasized. Guests enjoy food first followed by children. Delicious internal organs are reserved for the most elder.

Under the guidance of gaya, Truku men seems versatile. Except for hunting skills, Truku men also have great workmanship to make rattan back baskets for carrying, fish containers and baskets for storage as well as hats. Truku men can create various functional tools or decorations with just a knife, an awl and a wood drill.

The most worth mentioning is the pride of Truku men, the knife. A folk-saying says: “Truku men can live in the mountain with just a knife and a handful of salt.” Knives play an indispensable role in the Truku life regardless hunting, farming, building house or even cooking. The knife, shaped like a crescent and called Tong Men knife is tough, sharp and elegant in design. The Truku knife is still the necessity for the tribal men and becomes an attraction for many tourists.


To Enhance the Cohesion of the Truku with the Help of Utux

The dress and personal adornment of the Truku reflect their persistence in traditional culture. Different patterns, styles, grains and materials are used for the clothes. They can be classified according to the daily life and work. The ramie clothes of solid color, for example, are for daily life, while the clothes made from coarse materials are worn for the work. The clothes for ceremonies are costumes of red, black or white color with glorious decorations; accessories made from seashells and other materials are also used for decoration. The design of the clothes does not reflect the class. The head of the tribe wears the same as other tribe people in terms of dressing.

The most important pattern on the dress is the diamond-shaped grains of different colors, which indicate the "eyes of Utux". The dress for the women is mainly white in color. The two-piece apron for the part of the body lower than the waist is full of the diamond-shaped grain patterns. The lateral grain on the clothes means indicates the return to the rainbow bridge after death.

In short, the Truku keep in mind that they can do anything they want, but may not violate the conscience, do any evil things or spit out curses. Otherwise, Utux can see what they are doing. For this, the pattern of the "eyes of Utux" is widely used in daily life, including the dress, wood sculpture and furniture accessories.

The Truku believe that all happiness and disasters within Heaven and Earth are related to Utux. So they hold Utux Ceremony or Thanksgiving Ceremony in September every year after the millet is harvested. The also hold the "sowing ceremony", "weaving ceremony", "hunting ceremony" and "harvest ceremony". These activities and the special interesting contests, such as the Pig Catching Contest, arranged for the activities are helpful for enhancement of the cohesion among the Truku and for the continuation of Truku's traditional culture to next generation.

傳頌 Truku
 
洄瀾之夢 — 太魯閣族
 
每個人心中都有個夢,在面對現實生活的艱難時,夢想,會給我們許多奮鬥的力量,對身處高山、溪畔的太魯閣族而言,回歸祖靈守護的彩虹橋,正是他們美麗夢想的交會點……

從亙古以前,太魯閣族就流傳這麼一句話,「只有臉上刺有紋面的人,才可以在死後回到祖靈守護的彩虹橋。」而他們也始終堅信著,臉上的圖騰是帶領他們在世間奮鬥的終極目標,死後回歸祖靈擁抱的唯一條件。

雖然經過時代的更迭,在歷史洪流的衝擊中,太魯閣族已不再像過去一樣,在額頭、臉頰、下唇留下這象徵性的美麗圖樣。但,其中所蘊含的強烈象徵意義,卻一點一滴地融合在太魯閣族的精神中。從編織、雕刻、祭典到生活的每一項細節中,都可看到太魯閣族令人動容的堅持。



遵循gaya的腳步,攀山越嶺來到Truku

曾經,太魯閣族穿越深壑幽谷,登上巍峨高山,在對未來一無所知的情況下,他們堅信祖靈的庇佑,一路披荊斬棘翻越過中央山脈及雪山山脈。當他們終於抵達潺潺水流,純淨的立霧溪與木瓜溪畔時,展現在眼前一望無際,充滿秀麗的景致,讓他們當場忍不住脫口驚呼Truku。

那個時候,距離現在大概三、四百年前,Truku這句以太魯閣族語說的話,其意思正是「山腰的平台」、「可居住之地」。歷經百年來的發展,目前花蓮縣秀林鄉不僅是太魯閣族人數最多的分佈地,而Truku這讚嘆的語詞,也成為今日吸引國內外觀光客爭相朝聖太魯閣地名的由來。

太魯閣族定居花蓮後,仍秉持著他們對祖靈的崇拜和信仰。在gaya的指導下,太魯閣族以父系社會為主,家中財產為男性後裔繼承,實行一夫一妻制,並嚴格禁止近親通婚。舉辦婚禮時,一般都在新郎家舉行,由親友準備喜宴,男方備有包括刀槍、珠衣、農具等聘禮,女方則除了必要的織具嫁妝外,還要送給男方家族織品;並且,在過程中,雙方都會殺豬以分享眾親友,藉此加深喜宴歡樂的氣氛。

事實上,當太魯閣族從原本南投的居住地,跋山涉水遷居到現在的花蓮,成為獨樹一幟的民族時,仰賴的就是他們對祖靈的崇敬,對gaya的信仰。因此極具向心力,舉凡所有的慶典活動、日常生活都和祖靈息息相關,特別是曾令人印象深刻的紋面文化。


回到祖靈守護的彩虹橋

在太魯閣古老的傳說中,人死後都要回到祖靈所在的靈界。而連接靈界的彩虹橋前有祖靈守護,唯有紋面的人才可以順利登上彩虹橋,回到祖靈所在的靈界,否則將飄搖在虛無的天地之間。

因此,即使紋面時,必須將整排茂密的針連續拍打入真皮內,劇烈的痛楚,只能綁住手腳咬牙忍受。事後,還得煎熬可能長達一個月的療養時間,太魯閣族仍將紋面視為一種無上的榮耀,盡一切可能,義無反顧在臉上實行這「神聖的儀式」。

而且,為了刺上這美麗的圖紋,太魯閣族發展出唯有勇猛強悍足以保衛族人生命財產的太魯閣男子,才可以在唇下刺上「頤紋」;女子則必須擁有精湛的織布技術,才能在臉頰上刺上「頰紋」。換句話說,強健體魄的男子,以及巧妙手藝的女子,在維繫著族人生存的同時,他們也是太魯閣族內最被推崇的人。

雖然在時代的演變下,太魯閣族已脫離狩獵、火耕的傳統生活,不用再因應敵人環伺的險峻自然環境下生存,而必須出草,獵取敵人的首級。但精湛的織布技術,傳統尊崇祖靈,回歸彩虹橋的文化精神,卻以另一種形式存在於太魯閣族的生命中,繼續流傳。


編織著太魯閣族與祖靈之間的交流

為了登上彩虹橋,實現心中那個永遠的夢,回歸祖靈的懷抱,每一個太魯閣女子幾乎從呱呱落地的那一刻開始,就被教育以擁有精湛、純熟的織布技術為人生主要的發展目標。

從小,她們看長輩織布,媽媽、阿姨們邊織,邊親切地對還是小孩的她們耳提面命說:不要小看這些織紋,路紋代表的是一生的路途平平順順,豆紋則是五穀豐收,菱形紋代表的是祖靈之眼永遠眷顧、保佑著你。事實上,每一個織紋背後都有特有的涵意,最後,太魯閣女子總會知道這麼一件事。

不過,一直要到開始學習,太魯閣女子才會真正醒悟到,要完成這麼一件事,織成一張美麗的作品,必須歷經多少波折和付出。

織得不好,就割斷!即使最後只差那麼一點點,一般人根本察覺不出的小瑕疵。因為太魯閣女子知道,所有的織品代表的不僅僅只是她們精湛的手藝,更是和祖靈之間的交流。透過每一個織紋,訴說著太魯閣族對傳統文化的堅持,對族人豐沛情感的依戀。



一把刀、一把鹽,生活單純而自然

而今日的太魯閣族男子雖已不再紋面,脫離過去以狩獵為主的生活方式,但他們仍遵循傳統,堅守祖靈訓誡。耕種時,保持對大自然尊敬的態度,雖然靠山吃山,卻絕不浪費糧食,烹調食材也只用水煮、火烤、石燜及竹蒸等簡單的調理方式,食器都是就地取材。也依然重視飲食禮儀,先讓客人用餐,小孩子才可以上桌,好吃的內臟則必須獻給最年長的人。

並且,在gaya的領導下,太魯閣族男子彷彿多才多藝,除了擅長狩獵外,還擁有絕佳的工藝技術。譬如藤編,舉凡搬運用的背筐、儲存用的藤簍、魚籠、籐帽等,太魯閣族男子只要用一把刀、一個錐子和一個小木鑽,就能創造出生活中各式各樣實用的工具或是裝飾品。

尤其值得一提的是,太魯閣族男子引以為傲的刀。有句俗話說,「一把刀、一把鹽,就可以在山裡生活。」刀是太魯閣族極重要的生活工具,不論是授獵、農耕,或是建屋、飲食都缺不了它,特別是形狀像彎月的「銅門刀」。堅韌、鋒利、造型優美,至今不僅是太魯閣族男子生活中的必需品,更成為許多人特地造訪太魯閣族的理由。


透過祖靈凝聚族人向心力

另外,太魯閣族的服飾,也總蘊含著他們對傳統文化的堅持。大體上來看,衣服雖各有不同的圖紋、款式、紋路和質地,但,僅依照每天的生活和工作性質而作概略的分類。譬如平日的穿著以素色麻布衣為主,工作時的衣服則材質較粗,祭典時則以紅、黑、白為主色織出華麗紋飾的服裝衣服,並搭配貝珠、貝板等諸多材料所製成的各式裝飾品。沒有明顯的階級之分,即使是頭目家族,穿著的衣飾也和一般族人無異。

不過,衣服上最主要的紋飾,都會織有多個各色的菱形紋,代表「祖靈的眼睛」。尤其是太魯閣族的女子,在以白色為主的穿著中,下半身的二片式的圍裹裙上滿是菱形紋飾。而衣服上的多彩橫紋,則是代表死後要走的彩虹橋。 總之,所有的太魯閣族人都會謹記,不管做什麼事,都不能違背良心、不能作壞事,不能口出惡言,否則就會被祖靈看到,因此常常將「祖靈的眼睛」等相關圖樣大量運用在日常生活中,除了服飾、木雕,還有傢具裝飾中。

正因為太魯閣族認為天地萬物的存在、個人部族的禍福都與祖靈有關,因此每年九月小米收割後,就會舉行盛大的「祖靈祭」。現在,雖然很多都改稱為「感恩祭」,或者又分別舉辦「播種祭」、「織布祭」、「狩獵祭」及「收穫祭」,甚至在祭典儀式中,加入了許多趣味競賽活動,譬如捉野豬大賽等,但同樣都具有凝聚族人向心力的重要功用,也讓太魯閣族傳統文化藉此得以繼續薪傳與生根,流傳到後世。