About Truku
 
The Taste of Happiness  "The Simplest Happiness" -The life of the people in the mountain
 
The Truku from the forest and mountain live a happy life. For the people who live alone, the mouth harp is amusing and makes them happy. Believe Utux and observe the instructions of Gaya, and no problem is insolvable, any difficult can be overcome. The Truku encourage each other like this.

It is a bright sunny day. The heat is spreading in the air and makes people feel hot, impatient and sweat profusely. However, when the Truku take out the mouth harp comprising of a bamboo sheet, a copper sheet, a hemp cord and a section of wool and play it under an autumn maple tree with dense leafy shades, the people around there sing softly and the discomfort that the heat brings about are gone.



Singing and Dancing – Adaptability and Happiness

The Truku love singing. They sing in the ceremony, at work and for drinking. The commonly used notes are Re, Mi, So, La in a medium and low voice. Since living in the mountain and forest for generations, they intimate the sound of the wind, bird and water accompanied by appealing sound to make harmonious and pleasant songs.

Some share Truku’s delicious snack Hdama Brbrun. When the pleasant flavor of this banana cake spreads in the mouth, everybody laughs. The simply cooked bamboo rice and Butong, Truku’s traditional food wrapped in plantain leaves or giant elephant's ears, are handed around enthusiastically to fill the stomach.

When more and more people join the festival, some people sing and dance under the tree with the food in their hands. They step forward, backward, left or right and dance. Though the dance step is simple, the pleasant atmosphere attracts more people to enjoy the happiness.



To Live with Nature – Appreciation for the Gifts Bestowed by Utux

At nightfall, the Truku come to an empty area before the tree and make a three-stone oven. They collect plantain leaves, light them and put the clean stone on the leaves. “You can roast the meat on the stone. It tastes delicious!" Some people prepare the cups made of bamboos and bowls made of wood. The vegetable fern, lactuca indica, stream fish and stream shrimp are either cooked, roasted, stone-stewed or steamed in a bamboo utensil. They are served together with chicken, sticky rice cake and millet wine. The Truku enjoy the food while discussion the Thanksgiving Ceremony to be held in July.

The Truku believe that all happiness and disasters within Heaven and Earth are related to Utux. So they hold Utux Ceremony or Thanksgiving Ceremony in September every year after the millet is harvested. The Truku usually wear simple clothes. The "ramie clothes" made using the ramie root have a white bottom woven with simple geometric patterns to indicate the diamond eyes of Utux. However, they wear the "hero costume" for the ceremony. It is a diamond-shaped chest covering with a bear totem. The bead costume is also the clothing for ceremonies. It is decorated with seashells and the Truku wear it with a beautiful Job's-tears necklace.

The time for the Utux Ceremony is determined by the head and elders of the tribe. All Truku males come to the site before sunrise. Each holds a bamboo bar with sticky cakes and pork. These sacrifices will be distributed to participants after the ceremony ends.

Everybody laughs happily when talking about the ceremony. They also talk about the "sowing ceremony", "weaving ceremony", "hunting ceremony" and "harvest ceremony". These activities and the special interesting contests arranged for the activities attract many young people to come back for the ceremonies, which is helpful for enhancement of the cohesion among the Truku.

傳頌 Truku
 
幸福的滋味  來自最簡單的快樂 — 山林子民的生活
 
來自山林的太魯閣族,生活中,常過得快樂而愉悅。即使只有一個人,也可以自己吹著口簧琴哼唱,自得其樂。遇到不如意,只要相信祖靈、遵從gaya,沒有過不去的難關,沒有解決不了的事,太魯閣族人總是這麼相互鼓舞著。

豔陽高照,儘管空氣中凝結著一股熱氣,讓人禁不住躁熱,斗大的汗珠,一再從身體四處爭相竄出。但在樹蔭濃密得幾乎遮蔽天空的茄苳樹下,當太魯閣族人從口袋中拿出以桂竹竹片、銅片、麻繩及毛線所作成,小巧玲瓏的口簧琴,放在唇上吹奏時,悅耳動人的樂音,仍使得周遭的人輕輕地哼起歌來,忘卻惱人炙熱帶來的不適。



唱歌跳舞,隨遇而安的幸福

太魯閣族是熱愛唱歌的,不管是在祭典、工作、喝酒的時候,他們都喜歡哼哼唱唱。雖然常用的音只有Re、Mi、So、La,主要以中低音發聲,但因長年與山林為伍,喜歡模仿大自然中的風聲、鳥聲、水聲等聲音,再搭配上優美的歌謠,聽來格外和諧動聽。

這時,有人就近從家中拿出太魯閣族特有的美食,當冰得透涼的hdama brbrun香蕉糕在唇齒間蔓延開來時,大家都笑了。因為有人的肚子餓了,方便簡單的竹筒飯,以及太魯閣族傳統食物,用芭蕉或菇婆芋葉子包起來的butong,熱絡地在大家手裡傳遞著。

伴隨著愈來愈多人唱和的歌聲,在徐徐清風吹來的瞬間,一群人就在樹下邊唱邊跳邊吃。舞步雖然簡單,僅只是以左右前後跨步為主,歡樂的氣氛卻吸引了愈來愈多的人加入。



與自然為伍,感謝祖靈的恩賜

傍晚,太魯閣族人在樹前的空地,用石頭堆砌成傳統的三石灶,他們蒐集了許多芭蕉葉點火燃燒,再將洗乾淨的石頭放在材火上,「可以將肉放在上面燒烤,好吃唷!」有人這麼說。這時,忙碌的太魯閣族人紛紛將竹子做成的杯子,木頭製成的碗盤擺放在眾人眼前,經過水煮、火烤、石燜及竹蒸後的過溝菜蕨、山萵苣、溪魚、溪蝦等食物,再加上土雞、麻糬等配菜,以及暢飲用栗釀造的小米酒,太魯閣族人邊吃邊討論著即將在七月舉辦的感恩祭。

自古以來,太魯閣族認為,天地萬物與個人部族的禍福都和祖靈有關,因此每年九月小米收割後,就是舉行祖靈祭或是感恩祭的重要季節。平時,他們雖然穿著簡單,以苧麻莖根織成的「苧麻紡」,白色為底,上面僅織有簡單的幾何圖案,象徵祖靈眼睛的菱形紋,綁腿等;但在慶典中,他們會穿上以象徵熊圖騰菱形胸兜的「英雄裝」,以及由貝殼點綴成的珠衣,戴上薏苡串成的美麗項鍊。

祖靈祭時,先由頭目或長老議訂時間。當天太陽還沒升起,全部的太魯閣男子就會抵達祭場,每人手持插有黏糕、豬肉的竹棒,等祭典結束,這些作為貢獻給祖靈的供品就會分享給大家。

一談起這些,太魯閣族人臉上紛紛露出快樂的笑容,接著大家又談起「播種祭」、「織布祭」、「狩獵祭」及「收穫祭」等眾多令人期待的祭典。透過這些活動,以及穿插在其中的趣味競賽,督促在城市中工作的年輕人回家共同參與,藉此凝聚族人的向心力,是此刻所有人的心聲。